Family Learning Sessions 2017-2018


 

Year Group

Date

Activity

Nursery

Tuesday 17th October/Wednesday 18th October

Tuesday 20th March/Wednesday 21st March

Tuesday 26th June/Wednesday 27th June

These sessions will take place during the school day and usually parents and carers will be given an appointment by the class teacher.

Termly stay and play sessions working alongside your child in the nursery setting

Reception

Thursday 5th October 2:15pm

Tuesday 17th October/Wednesday 18th October

Tuesday 20th March/Wednesday 21st March

Tuesday 26th June/Wednesday 27th June

These sessions will take place during the school day and usually parents and carers will be given an appointment by the class teacher.

Introduction to reading

Termly stay and play sessions working alongside your child in the nursery setting

Y1

Thursday 9th November 2:15pm

Thursday 19th April 2:15pm

Introduction to Maths Mastery

Reading, phonics and Y1 screening test

Y2

Thursday 23rd November 2:15pm



Thursday 22nd March 2:15pm

Maths calculation strategies through the use of maths games

End of KS1 assessment information meeting

Y3

Thursday 30th November 2:15pm


Wednesday 28th March 9-10:30am

Times tables- multiplication and division facts

Y3 Parent Insight morning and insight to grammar, spelling and punctuation

Y4

Thursday 25th January 9-10:30am

 


Thursday 17th May 2:15pm/ 5:15pm

Y4 Parent Insight morning and understanding grammar, spelling and punctuation terminology

SRE

Y5

Thursday 23rd November 9-10:30am

 


Thursday 1st February 2:15pm

Y5 Parent Insight morning and Reading skills and strategies in Upper Key Stage 2

Building fluency with formal written maths methods

Y6

Thursday 12th October 9-10:30am


Thursday 22nd February 2:15pm

Y6 Parent Insight morning and Year 6 expectations

SATs information meeting

 

Parent Insight morning: This is a new idea which was trialled with Y6 pupils and families last year. Due to its success, we will be continuing it this year for Y3-6- it includes your child’s class teacher(s) delivering a lesson in the school hall to your child whilst parents/carers watch the lesson and then work with your child. This will give you the opportunity to have a look at the provision your child receives at St Mary& St Thomas and also look for ways in which you can further support your child’s education whilst at home.

If you are unable to attend the family learning sessions but would like a copy of the resources used within the session, please request them from your child’s class teacher.

 
 
Sign In to Edit this Site